WCBA
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My weekly sport fishing column & report

3 posters

Go down

My weekly sport fishing column & report Empty My weekly sport fishing column & report

Post  newsman Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:18 am

By now I am sure you all know I am a fly fishing instructor and sport fishing columnist.

I have had my weekly column & report published in local news papers and the other BC sport fishing forums for the last ten years. So now that I am a member here I think it fitting that I include all of you.

To help you interpret my ratings: I rate oportunities in accordance to season and the opportunity for the novice to catch fish. So a good rating in winter would mean the opoertunity is good for catching a few fish, and a good rating in spring would mean the opportunity is good to catch many fish. I also post what species offer the best options for success.

Sport fishing column for April 5 to 12, 2010

In my third year as fly fishing club coordinator I had 50 kids sign up
between two schools. This was a stretch for a guy who up to three years before had no training as a coach or teacher. Having hit my choke point, and knowing I was in big need of some mentoring. I wrote the venerable Lefty Kreh. Through a series of letters and phone calls I was directed to Phil Genova, founder of the Fly Fishers Apprentice Program, and author of "First Cast Teaching Kids to Fly Fish". Phil was a great mentor who encouraged me to get the kids involved in local fisheries restoration projects as well as teaching them to fish.