WCBA
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What weight rod and type of line do you recommend?

4 posters

Go down

What weight rod and type of line do you recommend? Empty What weight rod and type of line do you recommend?

Post  badgoalie Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:17 am

Hey folks,

I'm new to fly fishing and new to Bass, but really excited about getting out there and giving it a go. I have a 6wt single handed rod and a 3/4 weight Spey, but I'm curious as to what weight rods are being used locally. I don't expect that the size of the bass will the be the issue, but I could imagine chucking a popper out there could be a bit of an issue on a lighter rig.

Also, anyone use sink-tip lines or other methods to get deeper?

Thanks very much,

BadGoalie

badgoalie

Back to top Go down

What weight rod and type of line do you recommend? Empty Re: What weight rod and type of line do you recommend?

Post  andy Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:21 am

hey try to come out to the fun fish this weekend newsman who is our resident fly basser he can give you a ton of tips in like 5 minutes of talking to him

as for me ive heard a 6wt to 8 weight are perfrect for bassing
andy
andy
king basser
king basser

http://www.westcoastbassanglers.webs.com

Back to top Go down

What weight rod and type of line do you recommend? Empty Re: What weight rod and type of line do you recommend?

Post  badgoalie Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:38 am

I'd love to, but I'll be out of town all weekend (of course the one weekend I won't be home......)

How often do guys get together?

Thanks man,

BG

badgoalie

Back to top Go down

Post  Quin Fri Mar 18, 2011 3:52 am

Very Happy
Hey,.... just a question, please don't think that I'm being a jerk for asking, (when we meet, you'll have plenty of other reasons to think(know!) I'm a jerk,...lol Very Happy lol )